BJU Named Best Large Delegation at South Carolina Student Legislature Fall Session

by   |     |   |  

GREENVILLE, S.C. (October 31, 2017) – The Bob Jones University delegation to the South Carolina Student Legislature (SCSL) was named the “Best Large Delegation” during the fall session Wednesday, Oct. 25, through Friday, Oct. 27, in Columbia, South Carolina.

The delegation is comprised of Hannah Zakaria of Burke, Virginia; Victoria Sanders of Paradise, Pennsylvania; Rebekah Anderson of Grayson, Georgia; Bradley Shepard of East Hartford, Connecticut; Benjamin Mills of Barrigada, Guam; Margaret Nanney of Greenville; Joshua Casillas of Greer; Michael Pettit of Greenville; Elliott Kelley of Easley; and Grace Fryml of Greenville.

Elliott Kelley, a senior business administration major and the outgoing governor, was awarded SCSL’s highest award, The Carlisle Award, named in honor of SCSL’s founder, Dr. Douglas Carlisle, and presented to the delegate who best represents the ideals of the SCSL.

Hannah Zakaria, a senior business administration major, was named “Best Senator,” and Michael Pettit, a junior history major, was recognized for “Best Legislation,” which he co-authored with a student from Charleston Southern University.

Brad Shepard, a sophomore business administration major, was elected as Lieutenant Governor and Victoria Sanders, a junior journalism and mass communication major, was appointed Chief of Staff to the incoming governor.

Eight colleges and universities throughout South Carolina participated in the recent fall session including BJU, Coastal Carolina University, Erskine College, Winthrop University, Clemson University, Charleston Southern University, Francis Marion University and the College of Charleston.