School of Education and Human Services Celebrates

by   |   [email protected]   |  

On the Thursday before Commencement ceremonies, the BJU School of Education and Human Services (SOEHS) was able to gather in the Davis Room to celebrate the great academic year we’ve experienced. The event began by recognizing the achievements of underclassmen. First, students in both divisions who had completed their first internships this year were recognized. Our students served in over thirteen organizations including schools, daycares, hospitals, police departments, and more. Next, students from the Division of Teacher Education who passed their Level II interviews were recognized. These students are now considered Teacher Candidates. Lastly, teacher candidates who completed their junior practicum this year were recognized. These students will be student teaching next year.

Next, Dr. Scott Buhr presented the Jonna Carper Christian Educator award, whose namesake served the Lord faithfully at BJU for over thirty years in the Media Center and as a faculty member in Teacher Education. This award recognizes two current juniors who have demonstrated Christlike behavior in their demeanor, relationships with others, and educational endeavors. This year, this award went to two Early Childhood Education majors, Ms. Abigail Cacapit and Ms. Shannon Novak. This award comes with a cash scholarship of $300.

After recognizing all graduating seniors in both divisions, a few special awards were given. First, English Education major Anderson Kirkland was recognized as the SOE HS Student Teacher of the Year. After graduation, Anderson has been hired to teach English locally.

The Division of Educational, Child and Family Studies presented its award to Seunghyeon Lee. Lee is an Educational Studies major with a Teaching & Learning concentration. After graduation, he plans to continue his education in order to become an International Student Advocate.

This year, a new award was given, the Outstanding Senior Award. This award is presented to seniors who were recognized by faculty as having gone above and beyond in their student teaching or capstone experiences. Nine seniors were recognized this year:

  • Anna Binns – Elementary Education
  • Sophia Klaich – Mathematics Education
  • Annika Lipski – Social Studies Education
  • Madison Morin – Elementary Education
  • Kevin Yang – Middle School Education
  • Samantha Moore – Child Development
  • Molly Hotchkin – Educational Studies (Social Services)
  • Matthew Meroff – Educational Studies (Social Services)
  • Emily Walters – Educational Studies (Social Services)

Next, Ms. Jane Smith came to the platform to recognize the SOEHS Alumnus of the Year, Mr. Matt Boone. Boone is a 2010 graduate with a degree in Middle School Education—ELA and Social Studies. He taught at Northwood Middle School until COVID hit. He then led in the transition to online teaching and was featured on the local news for his innovative style and connection to his students through online teaching. He moved to Mauldin High School in the fall of 2023 to serve as an instructional coach and is currently helping to develop teachers in all subject areas.

Finally, appreciation was shown to two faculty members who are not returning – Mrs. Marlene Reed with 22 years of service, and Mrs. Alicia Kelley with two years of service.