SCSL Governor Names Two BJU Students to Cabinet

by   |     |   |  

GREENVILLE, S.C. (January 12, 2017) – South Carolina Student Legislature (SCSL) Governor J. Elliott Kelley named two Bob Jones University students to serve on his cabinet.

Kelley named Michael Pettit, a sophomore history major, as Attorney General and Maggie Nanney, a sophomore information technology major, as Director of Communications. Both reside in Greenville.

Governor Kelley’s appointments are effective immediately and are concurrent with his term through the 2017 fall session. Appointees are tasked with various responsibilities throughout the academic year and at SCSL’s spring and fall sessions.

Kelley also named Alexis Dimarzo as Secretary of State (Coastal Carolina University), Cody Simms as Chief Justice of the SCSL Supreme Court (The Citadel), Matthew Gemroth as Parliamentarian (Charleston Southern University),  Zachary Talley as Director of Governmental Affairs (Clemson University), Logan Franks as Delegation Director of Alumni (Erskine College), Nicholas Wellons as Director of Internal Affairs (Winthrop University), Shadda Corwin as Delegation Recruiting Director (Coastal Carolina University) and Caleb Johnson as State Chaplain (North Greenville University).

In addition to BJU, a number of public and private institutions of higher learning participate in SCSL including The Citadel, Charleston Southern University, Clemson University, Coastal Carolina University, College of Charleston, Erskine College, Francis Marion University, North Greenville University and Winthrop University.