Knoll Named to President’s Club

by   |     |   |  

Greenville, S.C. (October 3, 2013) – In the University’s chapel service Sept. 30, Dr. Stephen Jones, president of Bob Jones University, awarded Rebecca Knoll, a senior math education major from Greenville, S.C., the Partner Award.

One of six President’s Club awards, the Partner Award is given to a student who has shown himself to be a partner with BJU in the cause of training young people to serve the Lord by promoting or contributing to its programs in a self-sacrificing way.

Several coworkers nominated Becca for the award. Her supervisor wrote, “Since joining BJU Press Product Development in August of 2011, she has become an indispensable assistant to the Secondary Authors Math Team.  Despite carrying a heavy course load over these years and playing on the [intercollegiate] women’s soccer team this semester, Becca has remained committed to giving her best effort. She exhibits a Christ-like spirit as she performs requested tasks with efficiency and accuracy. Her heart for others is also seen in frequent prayer requests for ministries of her local church, Grace Baptist Fellowship.”

Another coworker added, “Her servant’s heart is evidenced by cheerful dedication to accurately completing assigned tasks, spending a semester traveling for the University’s Science and Technology Ministry Team, and working at a Christian camp (The Anchorage) during the summers.”

Becca’s well-rounded experiences position her to partner with BJU in producing quality curriculum to educate the next generation from a Biblical worldview. She has embraced the challenge to her potential and is finding ways to follow Christ and contribute to BJU’s ministry of equipping others to do the same.

Students are nominated for President’s Club awards by faculty, staff and their peers, and a committee selects recipients from the nominations received. In addition to recognition in a President’s Club chapel, recipients have their photo displayed in the university Student Center and enjoy dinner with the President.