BJU Named Best Medium Delegation at SC Student Legislature

by   |     |   |  

GREENVILLE, S.C. (October 28, 2015) – The Bob Jones University delegation to the South Carolina Student Legislature (SCSL) was named “Best Medium Delegation” during the fall SCSL session held at the South Carolina State House Oct. 21-24.

The delegation, chaired by junior Margaret Stegall of Greenville, is comprised of Kristen Ince of Simpsonville, Will Peek of Greenville, Nate Hudson of Greenville, Nikki Arnold of Brook, Indiana, Elliott Kelley of Easley, Seth Sanders of Independence, Missouri, Kacey Nanney of Greenville, Hannah Zakaria of Burke, Virginia, Sam Martinez of College Point, New York and Josh Strubel of Mauldin.

Kristen Ince, BJU senior and outgoing President Pro Tempore of the SCSL Senate, was awarded SCSL’s highest award, The Carlisle Award, named in honor of SCSL’s founder, Dr. Douglas Carlisle.

Stegall and Hudson were elected to serve as Speaker of the House and Comptroller General respectively, while Nikki Arnold was honored with the “Best Legislation” award for her legislation which dealt with domestic violence.

Ten colleges and universities throughout South Carolina participated in the recent fall session including Bob Jones University, Charleston Southern University, Clemson University, Coastal Carolina University, College of Charleston, Erskine College, Francis Marion University, Lander University, North Greenville University and The Citadel.