BJU Cinema Students Place in National Film Competition

by   |     |   |  

GREENVILLE, S.C. (March 6, 2018) – Several Bob Jones University cinema production students recently placed in the Intercollegiate National Religious Broadcasters (iNRB) 24 Hour Christian Vision (CV) Film Challenge held February 27-28.

The competition was divided into two categories: an online competition and an onsite competition held at the 2018 NRB International Christian Media Convention in Nashville, Tennessee. Participants of both competitions were required to create an original short narrative three minutes or less film that incorporated a required theme, line of dialogue, and prop within 24 hours.

BJU’s onsite team placed first and received a $5,000 prize. The team consisted of senior Caleb Murphy of Fort Thomas, Arizona; senior Stephen Dysert of Madrid, Spain; junior John Surrett of Raleigh, North Carolina; and sophomore Nicholas Yasi of Piedmont, South Carolina.

Three teams from BJU competed in the online competition and two teams were awarded first and second place. BJU’s first place team, which received a $2,000 prize, consisted of junior Emily Butler of Lapeer, Michigan; junior Rebekah Lloyd of Moore, South Carolina; junior Christopher Boshinski of Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania; and freshman Nathaniel Long of Winston Salem, North Carolina.

BJU’s second place team consisted of junior Jamie Gelzleichter of Easley, South Carolina; junior Trevor Kolman of Simpsonville, South Carolina; sophomore Matthew Seest of Greenville, South Carolina; and junior Nathaniel Wolfe of Milan, Pennsylvania.

“Our students excelled at the recent iNRB competition in Nashville,” said Dr. Darren Lawson, dean of BJU’s School of Fine Arts and Communication. “I was pleased to see them put the storytelling skills they are learning into practice and then to be recognized with top awards for their work.”

In addition, three 2017 BJU cinema graduates were presented with awards for the iNRB Student Production Awards competition for their senior films. Luke Brubaker received first place in short film and best overall student film production. Candace Burkett received second place for documentary. Abby Cole received third place for narrative film.